Recap. Refresh. Restart.

wp-1451505157788.jpeg
Merry Christmas….in a picture.

January is the month when we can recover from our holiday splurges, and when I get to celebrate becoming another year wiser (and older).

Now is the perfect time to recap and enjoy some of the events of the holidays while charting the course for the coming year. Don’t let the year slip away and forget to remember. I forget to remember too much and remember to forget too little. Allow me to share some of the highlights from this year’s holiday festivities before diving into our New Year’s Resolutions:

Speculoos Crunchy Cookie Butter...God's food.
Speculoos Crunchy Cookie Butter…God’s food.
  1. A saintly family got my wife Speculoos Crunchy Cookie Butter from Trader Joe’s as a teacher gift, and we were all better for it. God bless Trader Joe and his cookie butter.
  2. Eden and I were “Mary” and “Joseph” at church, and to keep things realistic we enjoyed some Starbucks while doing so. No, that is not our baby.

    Completely realistic example of the actual Christmas scene.
    Completely realistic example of the actual Christmas scene.
  3. We opened stockings on Christmas Eve, opened presents on Christmas Day, and more presents on the day after Christmas. Never spread it out like that before, but I think it might be the way to go. Maybe we will just start celebrating Hanukkah.
  4. It was awesome to wake up and have breakfast with my boys every single morning of the break.
  5. Spending time with extended family for a majority of the break was extra special too. Did my best to fulfill my challenges from my last blog post.

Overall, the break was exactly what we wanted it to be. It was refreshing, relaxing, enjoyable, and fun. Working at a college has its perks, and I was able to take almost two weeks off. Towards the end of the break, I began gearing up for 2016 and getting back to work. Last year, after the example of a friend, I really committed to taking the chance to set some goals or “resolutions” seriously and even broke them out into different segments. This year I’m digging a little deeper and trying to challenge myself more in a lot of different areas. I only accomplished 37.5% of my goals from last year so I have lots of room for improvement. Here are just a few of the goals I have for 2016. Some of them I accomplished last year and increased a bit for this year while others I had to make a little more realistic:

  1. Commit/recommit 10 new Bible verses to memory.
  2. Read through the Gospels 2 times and Proverbs 3 times.
  3. Read 10 or more books.
  4. Post 12 times on the blog. (This counts as number one!)
  5. Run a sub-6:30 minute mile.
  6. Run one 5K race.
  7. Go on 12 one on one dates with Eden.
  8. Go on 6 one on one dates with Noah and David.
  9. Go on one family vacation.
  10. Pay off our remaining student loans.

Feel free to share some of your resolutions in the comments and hold me accountable to these throughout the year. Together we can make 2016 the best year yet for ourselves, our families, our friends, and the communities we engage.

Let’s do this.

T

What do you think?

