Anniversary, Birthday, Mother’s Day, BABIES!

I am not worthy.

But more on that in a minute.

Eden and I are excited about being officially outnumbered now. That’s right, we are pregnant. To use a sports reference, we will be moving from man to man defense to zone defense. This actually works in my favor because man to man was never my strong suit. I have a feeling, an inkling, that parenthood might be a little different, however.

Ok, “we” aren’t pregnant. Eden is pregnant, and excuse me while I go down a tangent really quick. Why do people say “we” are pregnant? I’m definitely not pregnant, except for maybe with a food baby, and I don’t claim to know what it’s like to be pregnant. And if I did, I would probably would not be here today. Seriously, ladies, does it bother you when dudes walk around like “we’re” pregnant? When I’m at the point when I can’t even brush my teeth without dry-heaving, I’m hot when it’s 20 degrees outside, and I’m craving okra pickles, then perhaps I will consider saying “we’re” pregnant. But seriously guys, stop saying that.

Anyhow, Noah is super pumped. I believe the conversation of telling him went something like this.

Eden: Noah, we have something to tell you.
Noah: What is it?
Eden: There is a baby in Mommy’s tummy, and you’re going to be a big brother again.
Noah: Another one!?
Eden: Yes!
Noah: What!? Whoa!…………Is it going to come out of your mouth?
Eden: Not quite, son.

David on the other hand is quite content playing the role of the baby in the family and has no idea what’s coming. He’s constantly walking around saying “babies” all the time and we are correcting him to say “baby.” Just one. Please, Lord, just one.

Noah and David showing there thoughts of having another kid in the house.
Noah and David showing their thoughts of having another kid in the house.

May is a busy month for our family. Anniversaries, birthdays, Mother’s Day, graduations. Actually, today is our anniversary. May 23, 2009. The day that changed our lives forever. There is a whole lot of blessings to celebrate this month, and I am so undeserving of all of them. I’m so not worthy. For starters, my wife. I mean, look at her.

Me and Eden getting ready to celebrate our anniversary...Hibachi style!
Eden and I getting ready to celebrate our anniversary…Hibachi style!

Wowza! She’s mine?! I mean, c’mon! There is absolutely nothing I could have done to deserve her. To steal a reference from my good friend Paul, she is immeasurably more than anything for which I could have asked or imagined. She’s loving, kind, gracious, fiercely loyal, an excellent mother to our children, a great friend, and the perfect combination of hotness and hilarious. She challenges me to be a better man in every way, and she supports my journey to accomplish that, even through all the failures. This month we got to celebrate her birthday, Mother’s day, and our anniversary. In other news, June is known as “checkbook recovery month” in our family, but I digress.

This blog would not exist without her. Literally. She deserves to be celebrated so much more than what she received this month, or any month. To be a stay at home mom is one of the most difficult jobs in the world, in my opinion. It is constantly being attacked via psychological and chemical warfare while trying maintain the example of a high functioning and sane adult. I couldn’t do it. Seriously, to all the stay at home moms out there, God bless you and your kin. That is front line active duty stuff. And I am guilty of not saying “Thank You” nearly enough. You tell me if you would respond to this job posting.

Hours: All
Pay: Dandelion bouquets, kisses, feces, and no money
Breaks: Only bathroom breaks, but expect an audience
Qualifications: The patience of Job and a strong stomach

That’s what I thought. Instead of rambling on and on about how great my wife is, I’ll just let the sultry sensations and lyrical stylings of Ray LaMontagne explain the rest (please make it through the ad):

Ray Lamontagne – You Are the Best Thing

Eden, if you read this, I love you, and thank you for all that you do for our family. The sacrifices you make for us do not go unnoticed, even though I’m bad at noticing them. You are the best friend I could ever have, and I’m so glad you said “yes” eight years ago, and “I do” seven years ago.

My boys are going through the “that’s not fair” phase, and I have to wholeheartedly agree, or else I wouldn’t have ended up with their mother as my wife. Happy Anniversary to me.

T

3 thoughts on “Anniversary, Birthday, Mother’s Day, BABIES!

  1. Deborah Dick says:

    Congrats on all the above. You are a great couple and make adorable children. Enjoy the chaos of three little ones.

    Like

What do you think?

